Sunday 20th Nov

I was asked by a friend to put on a small gig at St Mary’s Church in Finchley to help raise money for the roof repairs! I’ve never played in a church before so I didn’t know what to expect regarding the acoustics! I was more than pleasantly surprised at how good it sounded as you can hear in the above clip.

I was joined by the inspiring Roger Beaujolais on Vibraphone and the wonderful Paul Carmichael on Double Bass for the concert. As this was not your ‘normal’ jazz audience I decided we would talk about our instruments in between songs and show their roles in a jazz group. This might sound odd but I felt it was really interesting to hear my fellow musicians talking about their instruments and what they feel their role is within the band.

We ended up raising £1255.46 which I hope will help towards the roof repairs. I’m currently writing a new album at the moment which I hope to have completed by the summer of 2017. I’m thinking of releasing it towards the end of the year and I hope to put a tour together to help promote it!

Photo’s by the Amanda Drummond


Rob Hughes Butterfly album cover

If you would like to buy a copy of my 1st album click on the buy now button or the itune’s button.

Butterfly - Rob Hughes

I completed the album in 2006. All the tunes were written by myself. Musicians on the album are listed below.

  • David Oliver – Keyboard
  • Bernie Smith – Keyboard
  • Jonny Dyke – Keyboard
  • Sam Edwards -Keyboard
  • Brian Henry – Keyboard
  • Ffion Wilkins – Keyboard
  • Emma Blanco – Violin
  • Henry Broadbent – Vibes and Drums
  • Orefo Orakwue – Bass
  • Curtis Ruiz – Bass
  • Jonty Fisher – Double Bass
  • Steve Rossel – Double Bass
  • Paul Harvey – Guitar>
  • Alex Toff – Drums
  • Jamie Little – Percussion
  • Gwyn Jay Allen – Vocals
  • Daniel Walker – Vocals